I was asked this question by the same person who was cited for operating a motor vehicle that was overweight for his license type, which was not a Class A Commercial Driver License. Click here to read that Blog - Florida Commercial Driver's License Requirements.
According to the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV), any licensed CDL driver can be convicted of Driving Under the Influence (DUI or DWI) with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.04 percent or higher.
CDL drivers are held to a higher standard than passenger vehicles drivers who can have up to 0.08 BAC.
Does this 0.04 apply to a CDL driver that is operating a passenger vehicle? Yes…under Florida law 0.04 BAC applied to CDL drivers operating a commercial vehicle or a private passenger vehicle.
If you are convicted you could lose your CDL up to 10 years or lifetime depending on the seriousness of the charge.
Typically, first time offenders will serve a suspension for 1 to 3 years.
How many Drinks can my Buddy have in an Hour?
First we have to set a base on what kind of alcohol we are talking about…for that we will use the famous Red Solo Cup.
Did you Know?
He is allowed to have an estimated 2 drinks per hour, but his reaction time will be slower and his fine motor skills will be affected.