Workers’ Compensation Insurance for Georgia Trucking firms is vital to the success of the business. In an industry where the risk of an accident is great, protecting the drivers or employees also means to protect the business. Don’t risk everything you have worked so hard to build or are building by not being protected by a superior agency and company. Contact Barbee Jackson Insurance for your quote today!
Whether you are just getting your trucking company up and running, or have been in business for years, it is vital to know the laws and requirements to which you must adhere. Failure to comply with the state guidelines is dangerous and costly. To help, we have broken down some of the laws, requirements, and coverage options for Georgia Trucking Workers’ Compensation.
Who must have Workers’ Compensation Coverage?
Any business located in Georgia with three (3) or more regular employees must carry workers’ compensation insurance. This may include both full and part time employees, the requirement is if they are regular, not dependent on the hours worked.
It is important to consider the importance of the coverage, regardless of the requirements. Just because a company is not required to carry the coverage, does not mean that they are exempt from the repercussions of an employee/driver injury with no coverage.
Call today for your FREE, Obligation Quote (850) 389-2001
Are owners included in the coverage?
Before we can answer this question, we must first determine the structure of the business. A corporation includes the officers as employees. A sole proprietorship or partnership does not include the owner(s) as employees. So far, we have just discussed how to begin the count towards the number of employees and if the business is required to have coverage, now let’s discuss coverage. A corporation may choose to remain counted as employees and be included in coverage, or apply to exempt themselves from coverage. Georgia law allows for up to five (5) officers of the corporation to exempt themselves. Exempt owners do not reduce the number of employees. Although sole proprietorship or partnership structures do not include the owners as employees, they do have the option to include themselves in the coverage by letting their carrier know in writing.
Is there a penalty for not having Georgia Trucking Workers’ Compensation?
Yes, if you are a Georgia business who has failed to carry coverage as required by the law there will be a fine. The minimum fine is $500 and will not be more than $5,000. Furthermore, if an employer who refuses or willfully neglects to provide workers’ compensation coverage as required by the law may be found guilty of a criminal misdemeanor.
What is a Ghost Policy?
Dispatchers, contractors, and companies may require that you carry workers’ compensation, even if the state of Georgia does not require it and you have no employees. By purchasing a ghost policy, it will provide a cost-effective option that will provide coverage as required by the job or load, while not technically covering anything. However, if you then hire subcontractors to work for you and do not collect their insurance certificate, you may be subject to additional premium on the audit.
How Do I Purchase Georgia Trucking Workers’ Compensation Insurance?
This is the easiest part, call Barbee Jackson Insurance! We have the ability to quote and bind coverage over the phone. If you are not able to call, inquire through our website and we can communicate through email.
Call Today…(850) 389-2001
Expert Agents that understand the needs of your specialized business
Fast, Accurate Quotes from the leading insurance providers
Barbee Jackson Insurance “Guarantee”
We offer a 100% FREE insurance evaluation. No risk or obligation! Our experienced staff is happy to review your current coverage and advise you on money savings ideas and coverage gaps that you may be missing.